Provinces of Sweden

The provinces of Sweden are historical, geographical and cultural regions. Sweden has 25 provinces and they have no administrative function today, but remain historical legacies and the means of cultural identification. Our index lists castles, palaces and manors divided by province.

This section of the website is still a work in progress.
More coming soon!

The only exception is Norrland, which includes all nine northern provinces (Lappland, Norrbotten, Västerbotten, Ångermanland, Jämtland, Medelpad, Härjedalen, Hälsingland, excluding Gästrikland).